Marimekko shift: Done!

Without much prelude, here’s the finished dress!

It was really easy to sew and allowed me to practice a few techniques like inserting a centered zipper, facing necklines, and finishing seams with bias tape.

I don’t see a point to mastering centered zippers (as opposed to doing invisible zippers) aside from the fact that they make for more authentic-looking vintage inspired garments– can someone enlighten me? Anyway, I saw it as a challenge and this being my second centered zipper, it didn’t turn out too bad! I finished the center back seams with green bias tape that I made at home from the same fabric I used for the neckline facing. (I am very impressed with my neckline facing; it was a lot of work, but my Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing was insanely useful!)

I am really happy with the fit on this dress– it’s not fitted at all and it wasn’t meant to be. It is super comfortable, looks cute, and I get tons of compliments on it. People think it’s vintage! (I guess the handmade touch makes it look more like it.)

Very successful first dress! I’m already looking forward to starting a new project.

One thought on “Marimekko shift: Done!

Leave a Reply

